American Fashion Critics Award was founded by Coty in 1943 which is presented annually to U.S. or American designers whose work during the previous year
has had a significant effect or impact on the nation's styles. Winners are chosen by a jury composed of 70 fashion editors of national magazines, newspapers syndicates and metropolitan newspapers, The "Winnie" award which has the same significance in the fashion industry as does the Oscar of the movies is a bronze statuette designed by the noted American sculptor Malvina Hoffman.

Among the winners of the American Fashion Critics Award were: Ben Sommers, Ben Zuchermann, Charles James, Anne Klein, among others.